LL Medico Diapers and More Bambino Diapers - ABDL Diaper Store

How do you calculate the cost of cloth diapers?

I've been working from home now since March of 2020. While disposables are awesome and I much prefer them I really am starting to consider the environmental cost as well as financial cost. With the shortage of shipping containers I only see disposable diaper costs going up up up. That being said if you are trying to compare the costs the math is fuzzy without experience. So just been spitballing some questions that have come up while thinking about it.

Do you have an assumed lifespan of the cloth diapers? Are there steps you can take to make them last longer?

I have had bad experiences with plastic pants longevity. Is there a way to make them last longer? Is there a way once they have gotten stiff to revitalize them?

What does washing them cost?

Is it actually cheaper than disposables?

diaper%20compare.jpg

13 hours ago, DAQ said:

Do you have an assumed lifespan of the cloth diapers? Are there steps you can take to make them last longer?

I have had bad experiences with plastic pants longevity. Is there a way to make them last longer? Is there a way once they have gotten stiff to revitalize them?

What does washing them cost?

Is it actually cheaper than disposables?

Hi DAQ.  The lifespan of mine is a matter of years, not months.  I wear them full-time & I've got about enough to last a week or so (plus some old ones I haven't used for a long time).  Of course I actually wash them more often than that.  Cloth squares need no maintenance (my squares are terry cotton, my soakers are mainly cotton).  Nappies with velcro fastening will need the velcro replacing periodically - I replace mine about once a year.

Polyurethane pants last a lot longer than PVC, and aren't affected by oils or vaseline. They don't get stiff.  I wash mine by hand daily.  These are pure polyurethane, not PUL.