LL Medico Diapers and More Bambino Diapers - ABDL Diaper Store

Making your own cloth diapers?

musicaddict

Question

Hey all,

I've been looking into (finally) moving out of the family home and as such might finally be able to look into cloth diapers to save some money on disposables. That and the bulk of them seems hot. I was also wondering though about making my own rather than spending around $20 a pop. Does anyone have any experience with this? What skills are needed/how good do you need to be with sowing since I've never done that before?

9 answers to this question

I use diaper flannel. It costs about $9 a yard. I line it with a layer of. (10" X 36") terrycloth and then make soaker panels (10" X 18") out of Zorb3. Four yards of diaper flannel, one yard of terry cloth and one yard of Zorb3 yields 4 diapers and 6 soaker panels.

I buy 27" diaper flannel, but you can get wider sizes if you need it. I have a 36" waist, and 27" works fine for me.

• Like 2

Here are two for you, one is mine

https://littleab.com/ABcare/diapertypes.html

You can make simple flat diapers with a serger.  https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overlock This will keep the edges from unraveling.

Flannel, terry cloth, diaper cloth can all be found for sale online or in fabric stores. 

More complex diapers would require a regular sewing machine and more practice. Sewing isn't hard, it just takes patience and practice. 

What's even better is that if you get good enough, you can sell them or make your clothes or other stuff.

On 2/21/2021 at 5:28 AM, Little Christine said:

(illustration of baby prefolds being assembled into an adult diaper)