LL Medico Diapers and More Bambino Diapers - ABDL Diaper Store

Need Advice For Leaking Stoma Bag

I am asking for my 85 year old male relative who is otherwise in good health. He had his prostrate and bladder removed and a piece of his intestine now connects his kidneys to the outside to drain into a glued on drainage bag near his naval. I know a little about stoma care from caring for someone injured in a car accident --but 40 years ago. I am wondering if this is like diapers in that if one goes to a store the only thing he can buy is Depends or a generic brand but there are infinitely better options online.

His problem is leakage when the plastic part glued to his skin suddenly breaks loose flooding him. He uses a Holister brand paid for by medicare. He has to enlarge the center hole from guessing 5/8" to maybe 1 1/4". There is also a foam doughnut adhesive that has to

Perhaps the adhesive pad needs renewal sooner or a better adhesive.I have some experience with the Smith-Nephew Adhesive for prosthetics, but not with a Stoma connection. The product I used was supposed to be equivalent to Hollister adhesive and from what other's told me they were the same, but the S-N product was cheaper. The stuff I used needed to be renewed every 24-48 hours, and if there was no strain might last 72 hours but that was it. I would check with their health-care provider for more specific info on this.

Plus one to babykeiff :D We can try to help with our knowledge, but having a discussion with your medical team always comes first- they may see or know something you're missing which we can't see across the internet. Thus even our well-intentioned advice may not do you much good- or worse it may harm- and we don't want that to happen to our friends here ;).