LL Medico Diapers and More Bambino Diapers - ABDL Diaper Store

Adult Baby Clothing Patterns?

I've been trying to think of ways to make onesie, and baby dress patterns, without having to upscale baby patterns (I am no good at upscaling patterns). I have also been working on diaper covers and cloth diapers, with only success with making the diapers. So does anyone have any tips on getting/making patterns for those 3 items? I'm new to all of the pattern stuff too... Anyways, thanks ^.^

Take a pair of plastic pants, measure them. Transfer the measurements to a large piece of (news)paper. Add allowances for seams and elastics. Cut the pattern out, fold it in half longways and check that the two sides match, and the side seams are the same length fore and aft. You can try the fit, and then transfer the pattern to a piece of card at this point. Stitch the side seams first, then stitch the elastic "pipes" on waist and legs. Run elastic through the pipes using a safety pin. There you have a diaper cover. It takes a couple of hours if you have a machine.

To make a romper/onesie, proceed as before, but decide how you are going to make it open. Crotch snaps are easy, and best for a first attempt but a drop-front style is more convenient. Allow sufficient margin to make a "pipe" on each side of the opening (fold the cloth on the pattern to allow enough for the seams). You can use stitch-on poppers (time consuming), or the press-together types (more exprensive, need the tools!). Buy a simple T-shirt for the top, fit them together temporarily with safety pins whioe they are on you and over your diaper, straighten the whole thing out, and stitch them together. ( It looks neater if you run some elastic through the waist) Allow enough "waist" to match the Tshirt and to go over your shoulders.