LL Medico Diapers and More Bambino Diapers - ABDL Diaper Store

Bowel incontinence - how to deal

I’m having a procedure called a sphincterotomy in two weeks to try to heal an anal fissure. There is a low risk of gas incontinence and a lower risk of fecal incontinence. For the few patients who experience it, it’s temporary. For a tiny fraction who have previous history of other procedures or experiences (multiple vaginal childbirths, for instance), it can be permanent. The surgeon doesn’t think I’ll experience either.

But I want to be prepared for any eventuality. Makes me less nervous, and this procedure has me very nervous (they divide part of your internal anal sphincter to keep it from cramping, allowing blood flow to the fissure so it can heal).

Let’s assume I do have some temporary gas or fecal incontinence for a period after surgery.

What advice do those with bowel incontinence have for me to help me minimize the impact on my work and life?

I’m a professional. I spend most of my day at my desk or in meetings. I very occasionally have to travel for work. I don’t have my own office. There are no single-person restrooms in the entire building. I can work from home, even for extended periods (3 weeks when I developed the fissure), but not for as long as it may take this to resolve without it somehow impinging on my ability to do my job well (and hopefully get promoted in June). I live alone, not seeing anyone right now.