LL Medico Diapers and More Bambino Diapers - ABDL Diaper Store

Question for Paramedics and EMTs

ItsCordell

For those who are emts or paramedics or firemen/women, etc. how frequently do you encounter people in diapers? What do they tend to be like (old/young/poor/rich/genders/races)?

Have you ever cut clothing off say, a trauma victim, to find a diaper or other pad underneath? What do you assume? How do you react? Is it common for emergency personnel to laugh about these things? In what situations is it appropriate to cut off clothes? What would you say to hospital staff about things like this?

What’s the weirdest thing you’ve ever seen on a call? Weirder than diapers?

Are you required to be confidential - like follow HIPA just like any other medical

Person?

Thanks for sharing your experiences - I’m just curious after a recent car wreck where I was wearing a pad - but did not go to the hospital or anything.

I was a firefighter/paramedic for years.    I have twice, if I recall, encountered a diaper on older people  In both cases we were called to patients who were in bed on our arrival.   One guy had a poopy diaper that fortunately fell off him when we were putting him on the stretcher.    We left it behind.    The other was a woman who had asked if we could step out while her daughter changed her prior to us transporting her.   We complied.

Unless there is something we really need to get at (like a bleeding artery or something), we don't tend to cut off clothes in the field.    They will do that in the hospitals (especially trauma centers).    The docs and nurses in the ER have pretty much seen everything.   When I was doing my training in the ER, there were a number of patients that came in with diapers.   No big thing.   We didn't say anything about it.